Jim Clark

Looked in on Jim Clark on the way back from the Association of Scottish Motoring Writers’ Award of his Memorial Trophy in Dundee. The statue at Kilmany, a few hundred yards from where he was born on 4 March 1936, is well looked after. Ford Motor Company supported its erection on 30 May 1997, a day when a test car uncharacteristically failed to get Ruth and me to an airport to attend its dedication by Jackie Stewart. It is a fine likeness, a shade bigger than life-size, commemorating a driver who, by any standards, was one of the greatest world champions. This year’s winner of the award was Ian Forrest, who made headlines at the age of 60 last month, winning the first Scottish XR2 Championship race of the day. Circuit Manager at Knockhill, he has apparently traded his bus pass for a 2010 racing licence, after racing for 40 years across the UK and Europe. He said, “Once you’ve got it… you never lose it. Being that little bit older and wiser certainly has its benefits.” I’ll go along with that.

DUNDEE, Scotland, 1 June, 2010 – The Association of Scottish Motoring Writers has awarded Ian Forrest, chief instructor at Knockhill and former racing driver, the prestigious Jim Clark Memorial Award for 2010.
Ian began his racing career in 1971, racing 'Scottish Special Saloons' and was champion for two consecutive years. His other titles include Scottish 1-litre GT Champion in 1985 and Knockhill GT Champion in 1988, before he took part in the British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) in 1989. Ian competed for four consecutive seasons in the BTCC and in 1991 won the improver award. Ian's son, Sandy has also competed in the BRSCC (British Racing and Sports Car Club) Ford Fiesta Championship.
Presented annually, the Jim Clark Memorial trophy, sponsored by Ford, is awarded to Scottish people who have made a major contribution to the world of motoring.
John Murdoch (right), President of the Association of Scottish Motoring Writers, said: "Previous winners have included motorsport legends Sir Jackie Stewart, David Coulthard, Allan McNish and Colin McRae, so Ian is joining an impressive list.”
After the presentation Ian said: “I’m astounded. When you look through the list of past recipients of the Jim Clark Award, and see who has won it, it’s quite unbelievable. To get the Sir Jackie Stewart medal from the Scottish Motor Racing Club and now the Jim Clark award from the Association of Scottish Motoring Writers, I’m just stunned and honoured. I really am delighted.”