Scottish Car of the Year

A new award to mark the 50th anniversary of the Association of Scottish Motoring Writers (ASMW), which organises SCOTY, for the most iconic car in the half century since the Association was founded was the E-Type Jaguar.
Founder members of the ASMW in this 1963 group includes (from left) Jimmy Scott (Edinburgh Evening News), Bill Morris (Scottish Daily Record), Alistair Cameron (Scottish Daily Express), Jim McLaren (Glasgow Herald), Eric Dymock (The Motor) holding tankard, Bill Amos (Top Gear), Frank Walker (Scottish Daily Mail) holding wineglass, Peter Easton, of the PR company hosting the party at the Player’s Theatre in London, Alex Bruce (Birmingham Post), and Jack Jellen (The Scotsman).

One of my first tests of an E-type. Jaguar brought a coupe to the Scottish Motor Show in November 1961 following its introduction in March. I drove it to the office of The Hamilton Advertiser along with Jaguar Apprentice Clive Martin (left).
In 2006 I presented the SCOTY Award to Jaguar Design Director Ian Callum, together with Dove’s Publishing Director Mike Roberts (left) and Miss Scotland.
2011 Award to Ian Callum (left) for the XKR-S